Centers and Institutes

The Biophysical Interdisciplinary Jerome Schottenstein Center

The Center is devoted its to the research and development of physical methods, specifically those related to optospectroscopic measurements of fluorescence and light scattering, for probing individual live cells within a population or tissues.  These measurements lead to a beter understanding of various biophysical phenomena and their exploitation in life sciences and clinical disciplines for diagnosis, drug discovery, and therapy. In recent years, the Center has focused mainly on developing miniaturized biological assay systems for low volumes, for single cell measurements, and lab-on-a-chip technology, for the research of functional cellomics down to its molecular level. 
Professor Motti Deutsch: Director
Dr. Naomi Zurgil: Head of Biology and Biochemistry Division
Dr. Elena Afrimzon: Senior Researcher of Biology and Biochemistry Division
Dr. Maria Sobolev: Researcher of Biology and Biochemistry Division
Yana Shafran: Researcher of Biology and Biochemistry Division
Mr. Sergei Moshkov : Technical expert
Location: building 214

Institute of Superconductivity Laboratory for Magnetic Measurements

In this Institute, experimental and theoretical efforts are coordinated within one organizational framework. Most of the activity at the center is dedicated to experimental studies of magnetic properties of high-temperature superconductors, in particular to flux properties (global and local flux creep, persistent currents, effect of heavy ion irradiation, effects related to nano-size superconducting loops, etc.). Application-oriented studies focus on high-current applications such as energy storage and fault current limiters.



Prof. Yosef Yeshurun: Head of Group
Prof. Avner Shaulov: Senior scientist
Prof. Boris Shapiro: Senior scientist
Dr. Shuki (Yehoshua) Wolfus: Senior scientist
Dr. Alex Friedman: Senior scientist
Dr. Faina Kopansky: Senior scientist
Mr. Menahem Katz: Technician

Location: building 202, room 001


Michael David Falk Chair in Laser Phototherapy Cancer Research

 The Chair and Laboratory pursue basic research on laser phototherapy. The main motivating factor is that while photodynamic therapy (PDT) has become a routine clinical protocol for treating several types of cancer, the basic mechanisms by which photosensitizers work are still poorly understood. We thus study how these compounds are absorbed within cells, what is their cellular localization, how photosensitizer-enhanced tissues interact with light, and the process through which light-mediated cell damage occurs. We have clarified some of these open question and pioneered the use of nanotechnological constructs as vehicles to transport photosensitizers to afflicted tissue in order to enhance the effect of PDT.
Prof. Benjamin Ehrenberg - Incumbent of the Chair
Location: building 202, room 001